a poem for terrible people

once there was a girl who told people that she was not terrible.
But who am I kidding?

I’m tired. I want to go back to that place between sleep and dead.
You can’t save me. I don’t want to be saved. But when you lie
there next to me on the sofa, almost awake, almost asleep,
there is no other place in the world I’d rather be.
You’re my best friend and I could never leave you.

“So here’s my heart, and here’s my mouth
And I can’t help if things come out’
Cause there are words I want to shout
But maybe I’ll stay low”

Leave a Reply

