Sometimes I'm awesome…

(… sometime’s I just suck big time.) 

As I wrote before I’ve been applying to some Art/Design schools, so I’ve had to do lots of assignments. And I thought I’d share some of them ^^ So here is my application for:

Beckmans School of Design

Assignment no. 1
“Create a visual story of your home. (can be drawing, collage, etc.)”
I decided to make like an interactive website (I didn’t do the actual website though, just the concept), where you can click on objects in my home to get more information about them.

Assignment no. 2
“Create typography for this quote by Yoko Ono”
I hade so many different ideas for this one. At first I wanted to write in Japanes, but it didn’t turn out the way I wanted so I just played around with the idea of writing something with crayons on concrete. I don’t really know why… I thought about how you can easily just brush it out and create something new. kind of like what you do in your mind. errh. something..

Assignment no. 3
“Create a design concept for the Olympic Games in London in 2012.”
Not much to say here. I wanted to keep the “olympic” colors, but wanted to make more like.. pictograms and icons, with kind of a “retro” feeling to it.

But I’m kinda pleased with the idea of the “olympic cup” cup holder :’D

Assignment no. 4
Was to create a storyboard/quicktime movie for a viral campaign for the Hallwyl Museum in Stockholm. I suck at video editing, and I kind of ran out of time to make the storyboard so I’m not gonna’ display it here ^^;;

Assignment no. 5
“In the Western world food waste is a big problem. Come up with a communication campaign that aims to change the behavior of young adults. The campaign should include ideas for viral marketing, an app and an ad that sums up the message.”
Here I decided to do a website, phone app and tablet app. The name is “rester.nu” which means “leftovers.nu(nu=now)”. It’s supposed to be sort of a community where you can find recipes, submit your own recipes, get handy tips on how to waste less food, take part in challenges, and so on.

And the print campaign ads:

Assignment no. 6
“Submit three examples of other things you have done. It can be photography, illustration, film, or graphic design.”
I wanted to show some things that I’ve done for my company: www.tiff.nu so I made a digital collage of that. It’s all digital edit, no photos ^^;;

I don’t know if I’ll get accepted this year either, but I hope so.. But even if I don’t, it was still lots of fun to do all the assignments ^_^ and at least I can put some of them in my Portfolio ~

21 thoughts on “Sometimes I'm awesome…

  1. Oh my.. *_* AWESOME! You are amazing! So creative and it’s just awesome. Love the ideas and love you did them.
    I hope you get accepted and I think that you deserve it🙂 Good luck!

    • Cat, åh tack så mycket❤ men heeh jag tror att det är väldigt många duktiga (och framförallt duktigare) som söker dit, så jag tror inte jag kommer komma in i år heller… men hoppas iaf! ^_^

  2. I would be very surprised if you weren’t accepted! Your effort and creativeness are outstanding! They would be lucky to have you. Amazing ideas and beautiful execution x

  3. I would be very surprised if you weren’t accepted! Your effort and creativeness are outstanding! They would be lucky to have you. Amazing ideas and beautiful execution x

  4. Hi! Long time watcher, no time poster.
    I love your designs! So simple, classy, cute and clean but with an attitude!

    I must admit that I’m not that much into reading, just loving all your outfits (and especially your makeup, hair and lenses) really… (//∇//)
    So when I was looking back on your posts and saw this I started wondering:
    Did you teach your self or did you learn it in school or something like that?
    If so; what school/program/courses did you take? Because I’m starting my third year in a month and would love being learn to do what you do (but obviously executing my own ideas :P) when I start applying for schools next year ^_^

    I currently have some experience with making simple websites, flash games and some experience with InDesign and Premiere Pro, but it’s all just the very basic and I would love to expand my knowledge to your level! I really want to work in your field in the future🙂

    Sorry for the really long comment and all the questions ^ ^’

    • Elin, hello! and thank you so much for your comment ^^ I’ll give you the “short” version of my life story as a designer😀

      I’ve always loved to draw since I was a kid, so I guess you could say I’ve taught myself to draw. And then in high school I chose an art program (at a school named Södra Latin here in Stockholm), where we got to try working with Adobe Photohop, Illustrator, Indesign, Flash and so on. When high school was over I tried applying to some art programs at universities in Stockholm, but I didn’t get accepted. So instead I’ve took some shorter courses, for example at the university (Södertörn) to learn even more about the Adobe art-programs. Then I began to appreciate working with Illustrator a lot, since it’s usually easier for making prints when you can work with vector instead of pixels ^_^ But when it comes to web, I must say that my best experience has been working at my current job (a web bureau in Stockholm called Cloud Nine), since we have lots of different competencies here so I get to work with both interaction designers, other graphic designers and programmers. I didn’t have much web experience before starting working here, but they liked my portfolio so I got the job ^_^ So far I’ve been working in both Photoshop and Illustrator when making design for the web, although I’m still most comfortable working in Photoshop. We don’t work with Flash here, unless we need to make an animated Flash banner or something. I don’t do any coding at all, even though I would love to learn some. On my spare time I like working with film and animations, but I haven’t taken any course in that yet. I’ve only been teaching myself so far, and looking at tutorials online on youtube and vimeo. But I think I want to study filmmaking at the university sometime in the future. ^^

      So to try and answer your question, I would say that it is definitely possible to learn all skills on your own by looking at tutorials online and so on, but if you find a good program at a university I think that is the best way to improve your skills. Assuming that it’s a good program of course. Since I didn’t get accepted to any program I took shorter courses instead, and it worked fine for me🙂 Sorry for my extremely long answer x_x I hope I could be to any help!

Leave a Reply

