Turn your face toward the sun and the shadows will fall behind you.

Hello everyone. I just wanted to share some photos of the guesthouse I’ve been staying at in Tanashi, in Nishi-Tokyo. The building is quite old and a bit run down, but it doesn’t really matter because the people are amazing. At least everyone I’ve met so far. Anyway, onto the pictures, starting with my room on the 2nd floor. I only brought my macro lens though, so I wasn’t able to take any overview photos… but anyway. This post will be kind of picture heavy!

Ah it was still summer when I took these photos… I miss summer already ~ I also managed to take a few (like… 3…. I always forget to bring my camera!) photos outside. Even though it was super sunny that day… ohh and I just love this cute Shiba-inu (柴犬)! Was always passing this little guy on my way to the station.

Wending machines everywhere. There is one outside the guesthouse as well. I’m loving it!

Oh and here are some pictures from my friends’ birthday, I just haven’t had the chance to post them yet. His girlfriend made this amazing American peanut butter cake. And then she got all his friends together at the guest house to surprise him. So sweet!

And me and my friend Linus (who is also from Sweden) decided to make some Swedish dishes, so we made meatballs (from IKEA haha) and salmon wraps/rolls with cream cheese, smoked salmon and chives. I also made some cake pops (or rather cake balls since I didn’t have any popsicle sticks), because I always make them for parties. But I ran out of cream cheese (’cause it’s kind of expensive in Japan), so I used some Calpis Soft (you know that thing you’re supposed to have on your bread or something) instead :’D But it turned out kinda great actually! tasted a bit like lemon curd so it was nice. A wonderful time with some wonderful friends.

☆.。.:*・°☆.。.:*・°☆.。.:*・°☆.。.:*・°☆

And yes, I’m actually back in Sweden now. Although I wanted to stay longer, I only had a tourist VISA and it was running out, and for the time being I couldn’t afford to lengthen it by leaving the country for a weekend or so. I also decided not to lengthen the Japanese language course I was taking, since I was paying for it myself and not taking a student loan (yes we can do that in Sweden), because I’m saving my weeks for a longer education, probably somewhere in Japan. But because I still haven’t decided on which university I want to apply to, I couldn’t really get a student VISA yet. So I decided to go back to Sweden. Also, it feels like the situation at Fukushima has been a bit crazy lately. I really hope they manage to make things better. Lot’s of brave people working to fix it. I really hope everything will turn out ok.

And I’m definitely planning on returning to Japan some day for a longer stay, and when that time comes I will absolutely get myself a student VISA. Until then I will try to continue practicing my Japanese, and I’m hoping to be able to pass at least the JLPT level 4 test, maybe even level 3. Perhaps not this year (since the exam is quite soon), but maybe next year. Anyway, a bit mixed feelings right now, but in many ways it feels good to be back in Sweden too. But I still have lots of pictures from Japan that I want to post, and movies to make, so there are still some Japan updates yet to come.

Stay tuned, and be adventurous!

4 thoughts on “Turn your face toward the sun and the shadows will fall behind you.

    • Nagareboshi, oh thank you! yeah I hope I’ll be able to take it next year.. if I’m not slacking off again like I did last time I studied Japanese >_> but I’ll do my best! And thank you so much🙂

Leave a Reply

